Skip to main content

Anonymising a contact

SME Professional allows users to anonymise contacts within their system. This ensures that key details about that contact are hidden, helping to comply with GDPR.

Before a tenant, owner or contractor record can be anonymised, it must first be archived. For guidance on how to archive records, please select the relevant option below:

Once archived, users will then have the option to anonymise the record.

If any contact requests that their details be removed, please follow the steps below:

1. Tenants

  1. Go to Tenants > View tenants

  2. Expand the View dropdown and select Past tenant

  3. Locate the required tenant

  4. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  5. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).

2. Potential tenants

  1. Go to Correspondence > Potential tenant

  2. Locate the required tenant enquiry

  3. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  4. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).

3. Buyers

  1. Go to Sales properties > Potential buyer

  2. Locate the buyer record in question

  3. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  4. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).

4. Owners/landlords

  1. Go to Owners > View owners/landlords

  2. Expand the View dropdown and select Past client

  3. Locate the required owner/landlord

  4. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  5. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).


​5. Potential landlords

  1. Go to Correspondence > Potential landlord

  2. Locate the required landlord enquiry

  3. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  4. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).

6. Contractors

  1. Go to Contractors > View contractors

  2. Click on Past contractors

  3. Locate the required contractor record

  4. Within the Action column, expand the dropdown and select Anonymise record

  5. A dialogue pop will open asking the user to confirm this action as it is irreversible - click on Yes to confirm or No to cancel the action

Their record will still remain on the system for reporting purposes but all sensitive data will be replaced (as shown below).

Did this answer your question?